Skip to content

May I Always Dance the Anniversary Waltz With You

10/12/2014
by

ringsI’ve never felt I had to apologized for being an “odd duck.” I know that I’m out of step with many around me and my friends who have stuck with me over the years understand that too.

I am a romantic! Just look at my favorite authors: William Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, John Keats, Lord Byron, Percy Bysshe Shelley. Even my favorite author Dickens has the romantic flair.

Over the years I have been called, “An Irish Rouge”, “A Medieval Master”, “A Don Quixote tilting with windmills”, and even my own Mother called me a “13th Century Monk in Modern Dress.” I’m the “odd relative” that gets the wink and a nod when talked about at family gatherings, but it is my nature, it is my being, it is me, whether understood or not, it is genuine.

This week, I find that an adventure started 25 years ago will become a moment to celebrate and to pause in wonderment. On Wednesday, Robert and myself will mark 25 years together and one year married…tho not yet recognized in our own State of Ohio.

Those who know me, know my tendency to be wordy, yet all I can say is that Robert is my “Rock.”

As a young man in the service, I prayed for two things to happen in my life.

The first was that I would get to England and meet my Grandparents, who I had never seen, before they died. That prayer was answered shortly after my 21st birthday, when I was shipped to an RAF base near Banbury England.

The second part of that prayer was that I would find someone who would love me and that I could love back. I waited 27 frustrating years till that happened. “A day dream’t of and almost forgotten.”

Robert, “May I always dance the Anniversary Waltz with you.”

Anniversary Waltz – VERA LYNN (album “for all World War II Sweethearts”)
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

