Skip to content

As A Democrat, Ohio’s 14th Congressional Republican Primary Will Be Fun To Watch

04/21/2014

1213259837Recently, I’ve taken issue with our 1st term Republican Congressman from Ohio’s 14th District, David Joyce.

I’ve been following his voting record with interest, in fact, I get it sent to me by email when Congress is in session.

My correspondence have been by emails off his Congressional web page plus I’ve talked to one of the Congressman’s office staff who called me to discuss my concerns.

Even after that, I have to state that the Congressman still frustrates me.

Granted, I am a registered Democrat, so maybe the frustration comes naturally.

To clarify tho, my political roots started growing as a Barry Goldwater Republican and then blossomed into a Robert Kennedy Democrat, which I find no conflict with at all.

Topics that I’ve reached out and made my positions known range from ENDA; raising the minimum wage; the IRS investigation, its cost in monies and man hours; food stamps; farm programs and unemployment benefits.

The Congressman’s replies have been cordial but lacking in any deep substance,  except for his one line, it appears in all his email replies,

“I do not serve on that committee but if the subject comes to a floor vote, I will keep your concerns in mind.”

As I was listening to Pandora this weekend, there were his ads popping up all over my phone.

Ads touting his record on voting to cut cost and waste plus

“Voting against Obamacare every time.”

Ok, invading my music space on a Sunday afternoon is one thing but patting yourself on the back for 50 useless, time-consuming  votes at taxpayers cost is another.

So off I went to find who his primary opponent was and his background.

The opponent’s name is Matt Lynch from Bainbridge, Ohio, and after viewing this “Tea Baggers” web site, OMG!

Immediately, two quotes came to my mind.

First from Mr. Conservative himself, Republican Barry Goldwater,

“When you say ‘radical right’ today, I think of these moneymaking ventures by fellows like Pat Robertson and others who are trying to take the Republican Party away from the Republican Party, and make a religious organization out of it. If that ever happens, kiss politics goodbye”

It’s so plain from the candidate’s web site that Mr. Lynch would be happy with a “Theocracy” not a Democracy.

The second quote that came to mind was from writer Sinclair Lewis,

“When fascism comes to America, it will be wrapped in a flag and carrying a cross.”

So, the next two weeks of the Republican primary in Ohio’s 14th Congressional District will be fun and interesting.

We will try and put our “two cents in” with postings over the weeks ahead.

Just a tidbit, we seem to be in the middle of the firing lines for Mr. Joyce and Mr. Lynch. To the north of our house are Joyce political signs popping up along State Route 82 and south of our house, along Twinsburg Rd towards Hudson, Matt Lynch signs. I remember when I ran for office an old political pundit friend of mine commented,

“Remember, signs don’t vote, but it does make it interesting to see what your neighbors think.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

