Skip to content

Ohio Tiff Between LGBT Community Shows Lack Of Gay Agenda

03/01/2014
by

cloud_lI’ve watched with interest the “tiff”, between Equality Ohio and Freedom to Marry, unfold on FaceBook and Twitter and which has even made it into the national papers.

A side note, Bob and I support both groups and have often wondered, among ourselves ,why the cause doesn’t out weigh the “turf war?”

Other States are plodding forward with laws, bans and discrimination being overturned at every corner by the courts, yet we seem to be stuck in Ohio with name calling, “angry mob”, and with threats of “I’m keeping a list and you don’t want to be on it”, rhetoric between groups.

Back in 2009, Dare to Dream posted on February 8th, a posting about the so-called “gay agenda” and maybe it was time for a LGBT National leader to emerge.

The issue of marriage for LGBT Community is of utmost importance in the “Constitutional Equality” of ALL Americans.

So here is that Dare to Dream posting from 2/8/2009, It’s Time For a National LGBT Leader.

It has always amazed me when my “far-right” friends talk about the “homosexual agenda.”

None of them have ever been able to tell me what that “agenda” has.

If it means that agenda is a code word for “civil rights” then I will agree.

I often explain to my friends that the LGBT Community is so fractured that organizing them under one voice and direction would be a herculean task.

Bob and I had breakfast with a good friend and former employee this past Saturday.

When the conversation got around to politics and activism, I spouted my concern about how I felt that the LGBT community tends to be wrapped up in petty “bar politics” and generally “self-destructive” tendencies.

When I was done with my “sermonizing”, about how it seems that we as “gays” tend not to want to see anyone succeed in a leadership role, our friend, who is in college and younger than I, calmly said, “I agree.”

He related several stories about his dealings with the “community” through a Pride Center and how it never moved forward due to the “hostility” and “political” agenda of various members.

I shared the fact that I could relate to his comment, for when I ran for “public office” several other gay bar owners, and patrons of their establishments, would not support me, even tho it seemed a good thing that an openly gay male was standing up and trying to make a difference.

Comments from those owners and patrons ranged from “He’s only running to save his business” to “He think he’s better than all of us.”

The one I like the most, and said to my face, “Tristan you’re a fucking gay bar owner, act like one.” Still haven’t figured that out yet.

Later, after it was known that I had received several death threats in the mail, the “community” was rather silent. In-fact it was our “straight” friends, along with the local Police Department, that was the most concerned for my safety.

With the new administration’s open support for the rights of the LGBT “community,” it is time to find our collective voice.

If we let these first four years of the Obama Administration pass without striving to get the “rights”, that all other Americans enjoy, then we have only ourselves to blame.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

