Skip to content

Memorial Day And Memories

05/27/2011
by

As we pause this weekend to “remember” those who have served this nation, and other nations of the free world, I wish to re-post my thoughts from last years holiday.

Recently I had stated in a previous post, Mother’s Day, the International Aids Candlelight Memorial and Memorial Day, May is truly the month of “Memories”.

Memorial Day, or Decoration Day as it was first called, was first observed 143 years ago to honor those who had fought in the “Civil War”. Now it has become a way to honor those brave souls plus all those who have served our nation proudly.

Recently I’ve been going through and taking stock of the family photo albums and documents.

Among the piles of snap shots was a photo of my Grandfather, tall and young, in uniform astride his horse in France. He’s 18 and it’s the “War to end all Wars”, WWI.

I got to meet my English Grandfather when I was twenty and he rarely talked about his experience in that war. I do know he was “gassed”, which was to effect him in later years, and he spent sometime in a German POW Camp but not much else was every said or spoken.

During WWII he spent his time as a firefighter on the docks of Liverpool and again I never heard many stories of those days either.

Another photo/postcard shows my Great Uncle James in his WWI uniform. Sad to say I never got to meet Uncle James to hear his experiences.

I have many of my Father and Mother in uniform. Dad with the 8th Army Air Corp in WWII and my “Mum” in her RAF uniform as a control tower operator. I even have one with both in uniform together.

Neither of my parents talked much about the war but I bet they made a great looking couple, arm in arm as they walked down the cobblestone streets of Oxford.

In one album I found a photo of myself from the 60’s where I was dressed in Air Force “blues” and overseas.

I’m sure that I’m like other Americans with many of the same style photo’s and memories of those who went off to answer their “Country’s Call”. Every Memorial Day and Veteran’s Day we bring those photo’s out, get a lump in our throats and our chests swell with pride and honor: “All Gave Some, Some Gave All.”

“Lest We Forget”

BASIC TRAINING

With some unknown sense
I felt his stare
upon my neck.
He stalk’d me,
trail’d my every move
and now
victory was in his reach.
I turned slowly,
gazed into my enemies eyes
and knew I was finished.
He laughed,
smiled and taunted,
then fired.
I grabbed my burning stomach,
and fell to the ground
still hearing his laughter.
I would get even
after lunch,
for war was only a game
when we were young.

No comments yet

Leave a comment