Skip to content

October: National Coming Out Month And Twenty Years As A LGBT Family

10/02/2009
by

Since 1994, October has been designated National Coming Out Month for the LGBT Community.

For Bob and myself National Coming Out Day, which since 1988, is usually observed October 11th, is a day we call special in our relationship and it gets tied in with October 15th and our Anniversary.

October 11th, 1989, Bob finally “came out” and started to work in a local Akron Ohio bar called Tear-Ez Too.

Four days later on a Sunday afternoon over a glass of wine we met and this October 15th it will have lasted 20 years.

AidsQuiltDCMallThe second most notable, plus the most moving, Coming Out Day was one we observed in Washington DC in October 1996, when the entire AIDS Quilt was displayed on the “Mall”.

Oh we realize that in the listing of “Holidays” these two don’t even rank in the Hallmark Card section for special events but they are “mile stone markers” for us as we daily go about our lives as a “family.”

To all our LGBT “Brothers and Sisters”, Bob and I wish you a day, month and years of Pride, Peace and Love, in fact we wish it for ALL the family of humankind.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. elecpencil permalink
    10/03/2009 10:27 am

    Tristan and Bob~ Happy 20th anniversary!

  2. 10/03/2009 10:40 am

    Thank you Jim. We appreciate the sentiments more than you can realize. Just knowing that there are those who accept our relationship as a family, is heart warming and encouraging. Peace.

  3. 10/04/2009 8:27 am

    Although “Dare To Dream” is not new to me, it has become, more and more, one of my favorite blogsites. Perhaps, for one thing, it carries me back in memory to my home state Ohio and to the city in which I matured to a bride on March 24, 1940 … Akron. Besides that, I always leave thankful that somewhere along my way to old age, I developed an understanding of the plight of what homosexuals and what they are forced to endure from a brain-dead, over-religious society. Although it may be because of age, I’m 89 and my newly acquired best friend is 81, our relationship will remain “just friends”. Nevertheless, she was, and is, a lesbian. When she says she loves me, she means, “loves” me. When I say. “I love you”, she knows what I mean. That’s understanding! Tristan, may you and Bob have many years of happiness ahead.

  4. 10/04/2009 8:52 am

    Mary, it’s always a pleasure having you post on Dare To Dream. Bob and I thank you for your well wishes.

Leave a Reply

