Skip to content

Ohio Democrat Congressional Candidate: Hate Crimes Bill Protects Sexual Deviants

09/10/2009
by

us_capitol_building_cli_01Recently, I sent out two emails concerning LGBT “rights”. One of the emails was sent to Congressman Tim Ryan and the other to his opponent in the Ohio 17th Congressional District Democrat Primary, Dan Moadus.

The email simply asked:

Sir, Where do you stand on:

1) Hate Crimes Legislation?

2) LGBT Discrimination for Jobs and Housing?

3) DOMA?

4) “Don’t ask, Don’t tell”?

Respectfully,
Tristan Hand.

After sending the emails, I thought it would take a week or two (if I heard at all) for a return answer, I must admit that I was pleasantly surprised when in no time at all I received a reply from candidate Dan Moadus and for that we Thank him.

Hello Tristan,
I am happy to answer your questions.

1. I have been opposed to so called “hate crimes legislation” since its inception in 1990, and certainly its new iteration with the Matthew Shepard bill that extends the protected class to include sexual deviants.
I am opposed to it for more than one reason. First I don’t think any one person’s life is more valuable than any other’s. If someone is murdered, I don’t think the courts should be involved in trying to determine what was in the perpetrators mind. Additionally I think it is a curb on free speech. As cruel as this may sound, I remember when hating someone wasn’t illegal in America, as long as it wasn’t translated into violence or some other illegal action. It was viewed as a logical extension of free speech.

2. I have always believed that in a free country, people should be free to hire or rent to any one they so choose, and government shouldn’t impose it’s will on these relationships. I have faith enough in Americans to trust that most of them will treat people fairly without being forced to. It really comes down to a freedom issue. And I’ll always opt for freedom.

3. I believe that no marriage should be recognized other than a marriage between one woman and one man. I don’t have any ill feelings for gays and lesbians, because I do not believe that they chose their sexual orientation. They certainly can protect their relationships by many other legal means, but it should not include marriage.

4. I think the military should be able to decide what works best for them. If they want to prohibit gays from serving, that’s fine with me. The defense of our Country is far to important to sacrifice for the sake of social engineering.

If you have any further questions, don’t hesitate to ask. You will find that I don’t “craft” my answers to solicit votes. I understand that there is a great diversity of views and beliefs, and I certainly can not appeal to everyone. So I always answer people honestly and hope that 51 percent of the folks agree with me. Thank you for taking the time to write to me……….Dan Moadus.

PS: I hope you have taken a peek at my web site http://www.danmoadus.org/

After reading his reply, I must say I wonder why he’s a Democrat?

Dare To Dream will be looking forward to hearing from Congressman Ryan and his answer to our inquiry.

Tomorrow DTD will take a look at Mr. Moadus’s statements and what we feel are inconsistency and issues for debate.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. elecpencil permalink
    09/10/2009 4:14 pm

    Hi Tristan ~ I wondered if you saw this: http://www.bostonherald.com/news/national/northeast/view.bg?articleid=1195773

    I am so glad I left the Catholic Church years ago.

  2. Erynn permalink
    09/10/2009 8:29 pm

    I was reading his environment section on his site, and I’m still not sure why/how he is parading around as a democrat. Everything I read on his site tested my gag reflexes. This was fun to stumble upon: “America has become a place where so called “hate crimes” give people protected class status because their lives are viewed as being more valuable than yours, simply because they are gay or are pedophiles.” Is he insinuating being gay is evil and ranks up there with being a pedophile? BIG, FAT, WOW! This was fun too: “Our Country has become a place with air so clean that reflected sunlight sets houses on fire and melts plastic panels on cars, yet in a never ending quest for atmospheric purity we are to be punished because our “carbon footprints” are too large.” To those quite unbelievable statements, I find Barney Frank’s words most fitting: “Dan Moadus, on what planet do you spend most of your time?”…

  3. Erynn permalink
    09/10/2009 8:29 pm

    So if I follow steadfast with his logic, America should have no laws at all because we are trusted enough to always do the right thing? Wow…

  4. 09/12/2009 11:32 pm

    it’s late and it’s this old woman’s bedtime. I’m going to allow Erynn to say it for me…and finish off with … WOW!

Leave a Reply

