Skip to content

Congressman LaTourette Calls Constituent’s Question “Bullshit”

08/14/2009
by

shape-writing_fabien_udr_01Ohio Congressman Steve LaTourette (R), 14th Ohio Congressional District, agreed with members of his Chagrin Falls Town Hall Meeting that everyone should be “civil”, then proceeded to respond to a question about whether he “would vote for reform” by answering, “That’s a bullshit question.”

The Congressman just didn’t make the statement once but twice.

Huffington Post has the video.

I think the Congressman’s arrogance towards the voters will come back to haunt him in the next election.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 08/14/2009 12:16 pm

    Sorry to jump ship, my friend. I want health care reform in the worst possible way. I find the behavior of the far right at these town hall meetings across the country shameful. That said, this Huffington piece is a hatchet job and that question, the way it was phrased, was a bullshit question. You can’t imagine how horrified I am to have to write this; alas, we must call a spade a spade. We can’t cross the line to the sort of “spinning” that we find so abhorrent in our foes.

  2. 08/14/2009 1:30 pm

    If you are familiar with our Congressman, you would know that this behavior is par for the course. In debates with Judge O’Neill last year, he lost his cool, as Ohio Blog called it, when asked a question at the Cleveland City Club he attacked the questioner by stating, “What’s your name and where do you live?” Also this is a man who called his wife in Mentor, while he was in Washington DC, to inform her that they were getting a divorce but has been against gay issues because of “family values.” He also stated while campaigning that he was only going to run for two terms and he now is on his 6th term. Rachel Maddow piece last night went into more detail than the Huffington story. I do feel that the question is a legitimate one or I wouldn’t have referenced it today.

  3. Michael Barefield permalink
    08/14/2009 6:26 pm

    Oh my, as I look at my comment it did look as if I was defending LaTourette a bit too generally. He’s a wretched human being for whom I have no use. If I were an Ohioan still, you can bet that I would stand right beside you in attempting to defeat him in a run for any public office. The questioner in that piece, though, was adversarial and offered commentary as a part of the question. Hence my remarks. While what he said about LaTourette never voting for health care reform regardless of the content of a town hall meeting is undoubtedly true, I know that I would have been put off by having a question smothered in opinion and delivered in that tone directed at me. While I doubt that I would have used the word “bullshit,” I would have been quite tempted to make my displeasure known. I missed most of Rachel’s show last night because of work, but I’ll have a look and get the whole story. Hopefully, this clears up that I was talking about this particular question by this particular questioner and that I am well aware of the congressman’s shortcomings and do not in any way support him. My comment, I think, was more about expressing my concern that in the process of getting the facts and our opinions out there, we need to be extremely careful that we do not become that which we loathe than offering a defense of LaTourette.

  4. 08/15/2009 8:27 am

    Mike, you are right that “progressives” should not sink to the “fascist” style “thuggery” that is taking place in town halls across the Country. I whole heartily agree. I’ve been trying to find out where LaTourette is having his town halls but he doesn’t even post them on his web site.

  5. Katie Giallanza permalink
    08/15/2009 12:57 pm

    I have personally emailed Rep. LaTourette on 6 separate occasions asking him to please pay attention to those of us who have no health care, and back health reform. I was politely told on all 6 occasions the he would do what HE wanted to do. In other words, my needs and opinion did not matter to him….. Why do we have reps who truly do NOT represent us? BigPharma and the Medical Industry are who this man represents, and I believe it is them who are behind the anti-reform activity in this country. I was a Registered Nurse for 20 years and had my own business the last 25 until my husband died and I retired. Not old enough yet for medicare, what am I supposed to do if I am ill? Maybe congressman LaTourette would like to buy me some health insurance out of his own pocket…..

  6. Ann Nonomus permalink
    08/24/2009 5:44 pm

    His time not represnting us is coming to an end I believe. He did a real shady attempt at town halls while he was in town and boasted at one that he had spoken with over 2000 people. Gee, that’s a drop in the bucket to the amount of people he actually represents. Plus they were kept on the hush, going to places like senior centers and what not, where it was obvious to a blind man, a very calculated move. He didn’t want to hear from the majority of us.
    I sat through one, and am very disappointed at the sleazeball tactics he used during the particular event I witnessed.
    I’m all for limiting all of congress to 2- 4yr term limits- as they really start to stink after awhile and forget who they are really supposed to be representing. It’s a shame.
    He won’t be getting my vote – we need someone to represent the people not big business. And we all know what his priorites are……..

  7. 08/24/2009 6:18 pm

    Ann, thank you for your response. Try as I may I could not find a listing of his “town hall” meeting schedule. I would have attended the one in Twinsburg but found out the day after. I’m glad you were able to attend and able to let us know of the disappoint you felt.

  8. Ann Nonomus permalink
    08/24/2009 7:02 pm

    Tristan- I actually stumbled upon the info about his “town hall” for the seniors in Chardon quite by accident. The News Herald had just published the day or so before his Eastlake “town hall” at yet another senior center, of which he got blasted by comments from around the area of why this was so secretive and why he was not holding open town hall meetings. I’m glad I was able to see this whole sham occur in person, has confirmed my concerns about what his real agenda is, and believe me- it’s not about us.
    It’s a real shame he chose to sneak around like this, hearing only from his Republican base, and at that, a small number overall.
    He may realized the error of his ways next election- hopefully so- as I know many who feel the same way.
    Thanks for posting this!

Leave a Reply

