Skip to content

To Sue or Not to Sue

06/02/2009

mcol_rainbow

By Michael Barefield- Portsmouth, VA – Contributor

A few days ago, Tristan Hand published his thoughts on pursuing the same-sex marriage issue before the Supreme Court of the United States (SCOTUS). I posted a comment to his post wherein I stated that while there was some risk, I would go for it, maintaining that I don’t know the answer. At that point, I had not read the actual joint statement from leading LGBT rights groups explaining why, now that Proposition 8 has been upheld, the next step for marriage equality is to go back to the voters in California, not back to the courts.

I still don’t know the answer, but I am signficantly more reluctant to agree with my esteemed and very dear friend and owner of this blog, who graciously allows me to contribute. After having read the statement, I think that it is quite likely that SCOTUS is not ready to rule in favor of same-sex marriage. A defeat would entail signficantly more work for all of us. To risk undoing what we have accomplished, is a big risk. Six states now allow same-sex marriage. That is quite an accomplishment. I think at this point that patience and continued activism is the way to go.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

