Skip to content

Now Is The Time

05/30/2009
by

mcol_rainbowWith the release of the movie MILK, the California decision on Prop 8 and now what appears to be a movement to have the Supreme Court rule on the issue of “same sex marriage”, and/or the definition of “marriage” in general, the LGBT Community is need of a collective voice.

I was somewhat alarmed with news reports on National LGBT Groups stating that the time is not right to bring the marriage issue before the Supreme Court and we should wait. Wonder what the founding fathers would have said if they were told that the time “wasn’t right for a revolution against England” or Martin Luther King was told that it wasn’t a good time to “march on Selma.”

It has always amazed me when my “right” leaning friends talk about the “homosexual agenda.” None of them have ever been able to tell me what that “agenda” contains.

If it means that agenda is a code word for “civil rights” then I will agree.

I often explain to my friends that the LGBT Community is so fractured that organizing them under one voice and direction would be a herculean task.

Back in February, Bob and I had breakfast with a good friend and former employee.

When the conversation got around to politics and activism, I spouted my concern about how I felt that the LGBT community tends to be wrapped up in petty “bar politics” and generally “self destructive” tendencies.

When I was done with my “sermonizing”, about how it seems that we as “gays” tend not to want to see anyone succeed in a leadership role, our friend, who is in college and much younger than I, calmly said, “I agree.”

He related several stories about his dealings with the “community” through a Pride Center and how it never moved forward due to the “hostility” and “political” agenda of various members.

I shared the fact that I could relate to his comment, for when I ran for “public office” several other gay bar owners, and patrons of their establishments, would not support me, even tho it seemed a good thing that an openly gay male was standing up and trying to make a difference.

Comments from those owners and patrons ranged from “He’s only running to save his business” to “He think he’s better than all of us.”

The one I like the most, and said to my face, “Tristan you’re a fucking gay bar owner, act like one.” Still haven’t figured that out yet.

Later, after it was known that I had received several death threats in the mail, the “community” was rather silent. In-fact it was our “straight” friends, along with the local Police Department, that was the most concerned for my safety.

With the new administration’s open support for the rights of the LGBT “community,” it is time to find our collective voice.

If we let these first four years of the Obama Administration pass without striving to obtain the “rights,” if we say the “time isn’t right” to fight for that which all other Americans enjoy, then we have only ourselves to blame and the time will never be right to take a stand.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/30/2009 9:45 pm

    For far too many people, the time will never be right for some issues, gay marriage in particular. In the minds of the majority of human beings there is but one criterion for judging what should go on in the minds of all human beings: those born with a penis are born to be attracted to a human being born with a vigina and bulging breasts. For those born with a vigina and bulging breasts,they are doomed to live out their lives, a slave to a penis. I doubt I live to see any change to the situation but … good luck. May you and your partner, Bob, isn’t it, live a long and happy life together.

  2. 06/01/2009 12:35 pm

    Well, the “leaders” in the GLBT community may be over-thinking. With the recent successes, including yesterday’s ‘quasi-victory’ in Nevada, I understand how people might be tempted to proclaim that the grass roots movement for equality is succeeding and that taking the issue before SCOTUS might jeopardize that progress if the court rules against us. (I’m assuming that Tristan was referring to the potential challenge before SCOTUS of the California Supreme Court decision regarding Proposition 8.) I think, however, given the current make up of our Supreme Court, it is highly likely that the ruling would go in our favor. If that’s so, it would save many years of work. If the Court should rule against us, all is not lost; however, the work of the activists would certainly become more challenging. I’m not certain of the answer, but for my part, I say let ‘er rip!

Leave a Reply

