Skip to content

Easter Greetings from the Old Dominion

04/13/2009

mime-attachment-flowers-iPortsmouth, Virginia – Mike Barefield – Contributor

A very Happy Easter to each of our Christian readers and Greetings and Good Wishes to Everyone! A friend of mine recently asked why it is that Easter is not the “bigger” Christian celebration? After all, Christmas was merely the promise; Easter is the gift. While I don’t pretend to know the answer to the question, a truer statement has never been made. If you’re a believer, as am I, a more wonderful gift there has never been.

I always stay away from heady discussions about religion. This is a topic which is intensely personal to me. My beliefs have comforted and sustained me for all of my life through many trials. While I often challenge people to “talk me down” (borrowing from Rachel Maddow), where religion is concerned, I don’t wish to be “talked down.” I choose to believe that I can be both gay (no choice) and Christian. I reject, out of hand, those who say that the two are mutually exclusive. I am also a “whosoever.” See John 3:16, The Bible.

May God’s peace be with you on this special day. Alleluia, He is risen!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 04/13/2009 3:54 pm

    Blessed be! 😉 Out of the broom closet gay Pagan here, but I fully support those who believe that ultimately Christ’s real message as being about love and inclusiveness. Nope, it is quite entirely possible to be a genuine Christian and gay/GLBT supportive.

    Hope that your holiday was wonderful and fulfilling!

  2. mbarefield permalink
    04/14/2009 7:19 am

    Thanks for the read and the comment, Michael. I once attended a Pagan ceremony at a UUC. I’ve forgotten what it was we were celebrating, but the ritual involved facing north, south, east and west and giving thanks to “Mother Earth,” which I thought was pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

