Skip to content

Four Down – Forty-Six to Go!

04/09/2009

shape-writing_fabien_udr_01Portsmouth, Virginia – Mike Barefield – Contributor

Allow me to take just a bit of blog space to thank my good friend, Tristan Hand, for inviting me to contribute to Dare To Dream. I have enjoyed the blog for the past two years and appreciate Tristan’s confidence in me. I will do my best to contribute news items and offer opinions, which will generate interest and foster healthy debate.

Today is a banner day for the movement to advance same-sex marriage in the United States. The Washington Post is reporting that the District of Columbia Council voted unanimously today to recognize the same-sex marriages of record in the states which have legalized it. (http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2009/04/07/AR2009040702200.html) Also today, the Vermont Legislature, overriding the governor’s veto, legalized same sex marriage, making it the fourth state to do so. (http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2009/04/07/AR2009040702200.html) Massachusetts, Connecticut and, most recently, Iowa have legalized same-sex marriage.

Remarkably, the right-wing pundits have not yet begun to rant. There is little doubt, however, that they will. In my life, I have a number of people about whom I care deeply, who are vehemently opposed to gay marriage based upon their religious views and their ideaology, generally. I never know whether the right thing to do is to continue to try to sway their opinions or simply accept that we are all a product of our experiences and what we have come to believe as a result of those experiences and plow forward in spite of these folks. Does it do any good at all to debate the person who leans so far right that s(he) could only stand erect with difficulty? I’m beginning to believe that, while it is important to get valid, truthful information out there, it does little good for this cause (or any cause) to spend time debating people who are cemented into a position. Or, am I wrong? Can we jackhammer these people out of that position? What do you think?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

