Skip to content

“That’s So Gay”

03/26/2009
by

mcol_rainbowThe first time I heard the expression “That’s So Gay”, referring to and meaning lame, I was vising a friend that had high schoolers working for her.

I sort of paused, looked at them as they realized that I was standing there and waited for an apology, which I am glad to say was forth coming.

I am somewhat surprised at how easy the words were spoken, and as casually as if they had been talking about the Browns or Cavs, but being use to abuse and threats over the many years of being “out”, I have developed a wait and see what happens attitude when situations arise. Tho I admit that I would have spoken my displeasure with the statement had they not apologized.

It was with great interested that I read a story, this morning, that the new Education Secretary Ame Duncan, has told a gay student advocacy group that he intends to make schools safe for every student, regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity/expression.

The biennial National School Climate Survey has repeatedly shown that LGBT students experience extreme harassmant.

As I was preparing to write this mornings post, I received an email from Dr. Nadon, Associate Professor of Theater at Kent Tumbull and Co-coordinator of LGBT Studies, informing me of an up coming production, called aptly, That’s So Gay!

This production is being presented by Creative and Performing Arts Group for Queer Youth and Allies.

dreams-of-hope-flyer-colo2

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Bruce permalink
    03/26/2009 10:57 am

    I saw this group last summer, they are terrific and well worth the effort to get there. Unfortunately North Coast Men’s Chorus dress rehearsal for performance on April 4 and 5 won’t allow me to attend.

  2. Pam permalink
    03/26/2009 11:47 am

    My favorite has always been the NPR commentator who, when asked his opinion of candy corn, said, “As a homosexual with sciatica, I can state, for a fact, that it (candy corn) is both lame and gay.”

  3. 03/26/2009 2:55 pm

    That’s hilarious, Pam! I must confess to needing a tad longer in my dotage for things to sink in. When I first heard the expression, “That’s so gay,” I thought it was complimentary. I had to really think it about it before the coin dropped and I realized that it was intended in a derogatory way. Needless to say, I dislike the expression, but I counteract it by using it in a positive way. “I just heard the gayest song. I absolutely loved it!”

  4. 03/30/2009 8:18 pm

    I have to admit that I have never heard the expression, but now that I have, I’ll sure take issue with anybody I hear repeating it. I may be very much a heterosexual old woman of almost 90, but I do not tolerate such slurs. By the way Tristan, one of my favorite books of poetry is by Daryl Hine, “Acdemic Festival. Just wondering if you have read it and what you think if you have? It may be paperback, but it is a book that, when the time comes to parting with it, I’d like it to end up in somebody’s bookcase who would appreciate it for its beautiful and sensitive love of one male student for another.

  5. 04/18/2009 4:00 am

    it was a term that started in the late sixties in california (biggest gay population at the time besides NYC)

Leave a Reply

