Skip to content

It’s The Little Things In Life That Can Comfort

03/22/2009
by

mime-attachment-flowers-2It’s a beautiful sun shining Sunday morning and the flowers, I planted by the side door 17 years ago, bask in the bright morning rays.

I’ve taken Shadow out, she’s now six months old, fed her and the the cats (Snowball, Moses and Teatro), made myself ashadow-6-months-old1 cup of coffee and a toasted bagel with strawberry jam, then settled down in the sun room (study) to work on the blog and sundry items.

From my vantage point I can hear and see the variety of birds outside (last count 32 types have been spotted on the property) chirping and chattering as they look for their morning breakfast or as they gather nesting supplies for the many trees that abound around the house.

“Woody”, our resident woodchuck, is rooting around the old rose garden, and I ponder how many of these woodchucks we have had over the many years and how long this one has been here?

Two black squirrels play in the back yard and I always marvel at their agility. One even has a white blaze on it’s chest which adds to the uniqueness of the experience.

In the distance, the neighbors’ dog barks its unhappy voice to the fact of being outside and not with the family huddled within.

Bob is sound asleep upstairs and all is peace and calm.

With all the talk of economic disaster, unemployment woes and the unraveling of many peoples daily lives, it is a joy and a comfort that I can appreciate the little things which really make the day brighter, worthwhile, and renews my faith.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/22/2009 12:14 pm

    It’s the little things… so true and yet, so seldom a part of the average person’s life. Here in Port St. Lucie, Florida, I am fortunate to have a small park area right across from my front door and a back yard with two huge Live Oak Trees, but little in the way of wildlife. There are two squirrels who understand that the rattle they hear means a feast of nuts, and an occasional small rabbit comes around. I see few birds which I believe may be caused by an increase of a large black species which I wonder have preyed upon them. Inside, I have my overly- bossy Shih Tzu I named Scamp and my two cats to keep me company. Tristan, I like being a part of your “blog-famil”. Just wish you and Bob lived close enough that we could share an occasional cup of tea.

  2. 03/24/2009 8:34 am

    That’s really sweet, buddy. Since I’ve begun to read your blog, I’ve started to think of you as something of an enigma. At once a poet, who is able to really appreciate the simple things in life and articulate that appreciation and a politician (or at least a would-be politician) and no-nonsense businessman quite capable of tossing an unruly patron out of the bar or chastising the bartender for pouring more than a 3-count (LOL). Imposing, but at the same time easy to like. I’ve had people tell me that I’m a walking dichotomy; however, I don’t think they meant it to be a compliment such as I’m paying you with this post. LOL

  3. 03/24/2009 9:03 am

    Mike, I appreciate your comment. Maybe the old saying is true, “Jack of all trades and master of nothing.” All I hope is that somewhere along the line, I’ve made the road a bit easier for someone to travel.

Leave a Reply

