Skip to content

White House Website Inflames The “Far Right”

01/23/2009
by

mcol_rainbow1It would seem that the “zealots” have found the White House’s website statement about “Civil Rights” and the LGBT Community.

In an article, posted this morning on the “blog” pinknews.co.uk, Rev. Donald Wildman of the American Family Association has alerted his supporters with the following statement:

“This is only the beginning of Obama’s plans to reshape society. His view is that unborn babies aren’t worth protecting and that homosexuals deserve special rights.”

Pink News further quotes other Christian groups which seem to be in a “panic” over the White House websites declaration on gay “Civil Rights.”

In Dare To Dream’s post from 1/21, Now It’s Our Turn, DTD pointed out the reason that it was time for us to act on obtaining our “Rights” and not “special rights” as so stated by Pastor Wildman,

An email to me this morning said (we whole heartily agree)…”last I checked, they were the same rights as every other American citizen.”

We ask for no more than what every other American has the right and privilege to enjoy as a citizen of the United States of America.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/24/2009 1:11 am

    You do have rights, just don’t force you values on my child, dig?

  2. 01/24/2009 9:38 am

    Thank you for your comment. I will not “force” my “values” on anyone as long as they don’t force theirs on me.

  3. 01/24/2009 10:03 am

    Rather than a dissertation-like response to those venom-spewing, so-called Christians, who occupy the extreme right of our social spectrum, most of which has already been written by people far more articulate than I, I will simply say this: Get out your bibles and read the part written in RED. Jesus Christ would no doubt be ashamed of the hate-filled rhetoric. I am ashamed of the ignorance.

    I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – we must support those scientists working to prove that like skin color, homosexuality is NOT a choice. Gay men and women must also be extraordinarily careful of the language we use when attempting to garner support for equal treatment under the law. Throw the term “sexual preference” out the window as if you’d never heard it. “Preference” implies that you have a choice. “Sexual” makes it all about sex. It’s certainly not something that I would have chosen and my ability to fall in love with a man and my inability to fall in love with a woman, while it has a sexual component, is certainly not all about sex. I can and have had sex with women, but found it as unsatisfying as having sex with a hole my mattress might be. I can’t fall in love with my mattress, because I can’t connect with it on the emotional level and on the level of that which is undefinable to cause me to fall in love with it. I can love women and do, but I can’t “fall in” love with a woman for the same reasons. We have only scratched the surface of understanding why someone is gay. Although the rotten economy has hit home for me and my charitable contributions will be sorely limited in 2009, I will, as I always have, divide my giving equally among organizations striving to acquire civil rights for the gay community and organizations conducting legitimate research into the physiological causes of homosexuality.

  4. 01/25/2009 10:34 pm

    I have seldom read anything as clarifying concering homosexuality as what I just read. I truly liked what you wrote when you wrote, “I can love a woman but I can’t “fall in” love with a woman. That, in just a few words, explains it all. I am a heterosexaul, 89 year old woman who remembers truly loving a friend, female, many years ago, but I was not “in love”. She died of heart failure back in 1975. She was my dearest friend and I still miss her, even after all these years.

Leave a Reply

