Skip to content

Dream the Dream, It Can Become Reality

11/03/2008

Since today is the day before the election, I thought I’d pause and just ponder some thoughts, or as many of our readers know, what I call “Tidbits.”

No matter who you vote for, I encourage you to vote. Bob and I use to post a sign in our Tavern, “Be A Part of the Minority and Vote.” This year it looks like a record amount of registered voters will make the trip to the polls and maybe it will be for the first time, the Majority.

This election has found me feeling as tho I did not have to apologize for being a “progressive”, and most of all, an “idealist.”

As a “Robert Kennedy” Democrat, I came out of the sixties as a true “dreamer”. One who believed in the better part of our worth or as Barrack Obama has stated, “Our better angels.”

I have always felt that the true calling of Christ’s followers was to live a life of Peace, Love and Charity and thereby changing the world for the better. “Some men see things as they are and say why – I dream things that never were and say why not?”

In 2004, as an elected John Kerry alternate-delegate to the Democrat National Convention from the Ohio 17th District, I felt the fires rekindled with John Kerry and then blazing with Barack Obama.

That Wednesday night in which Barack gave his “Keynote address”, I was with the Ohio delegation just rows away from the podium. He spoke with vision and thought. As he spoke, “There are not red states or blue states but red, white and blue states…”, my heart began to race and my thoughts flashed back to that time when this “child of the sixties” believed.

As I have posted on DTD before, I came back from my four years in the military during Viet Nam and returned to University at Kent State where I joined the demonstrations against the war. My father was upset at my anti-war views but always stated “You served and you have earned the right to take a stand,” and for that I have always been truly grateful.

The death of Robert Kennedy, the war and then being shot at at Kent State on May 4th, 1970, turned my “60’s dreams” into nightmares.

Now I’m in my sixties, no longer an idealistic teenager, but wait, somethings happening.

A new voice with an “old vision” has appeared and in the eyes of the present youth I see a familiar fire burning.

I hear voices from the past but see a future reborn.

If nothing else comes out of this election but the fact that a “dream” of a better world still exists and that people, especially the youth of this Country so many years after the 1960’s believe, then it has been worth the wait.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/03/2008 6:59 pm

    No comments yet? I’m sure there will be. Tomorrow, book in one hand and a folding chair in the other, I plan on casting my vote for Obama and Biden, however long the wait. I have never, not that I can recall, apologized for being a democrat, and what party has, time and time again, plunged this country into recessions: the Republicans! During thirty years as wife to a farmer, I cannot recall the republicans ever trying to help the farmer survive. And I’m with you when it comes to the veitnam war. It was a waste of both lives and money.

  2. 11/04/2008 11:10 am

    Nicely stated

Leave a Reply

