Skip to content

Warren Opera House, Post Office and 158 N. Park?

02/02/2008
by

flag02b.jpgYou probably wondering what Warren’s Opera House, the Post Office and 158 North Park have in common?

Originally I was going to do a post about the old Warren Opera House and was in the process of research on acts, shows and other entertainment that might have performed on that stage when I found a connection with 158 North Park and the High Street Post Office.

In 1899, the Post Office was located on the first floor of the Opera House. This location was centrally located with the Courthouse being across the street, Jail next door and the City Hall about a block away.

flag03b.jpgIn 1906 the Post Office was moved to a store front at 158 North Park. The International Order of Odd fellows was upstairs and a Candy Store where Musa’s Clothing Store is presently located.

In 1909, the cornerstone was laid for a new Post Office at it’s present location on High St. oldpostoffice.jpg

flag01b1.jpgThe first “flag cancellation” in Warren was used at the Opera House Post Office in 1899 after President McKinley gave the first honor to Canton Ohio to use in 1895.Thanks to the Warren Stamp Club, you’ll find more interesting info at http://hometown.aol.com/warrenstampclub/

There are so many unknown “hidden” gems and jewels about the City of Warren that it’s worth the time to go prospecting to find them.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    06/02/2009 10:38 pm

    I love the photo of the Opera house, I wish you would have continued your quest on the acts that performed there. I recently found out that my great grandparents performed there often, I am trying to learn more about them.

  2. 06/03/2009 7:23 am

    Kelly thank you for your input. Let us know what you find out about your grandparents. My research on acts, etc., didn’t get me much but since you have asked, I will follow-up on it again and see what I can find.

  3. 06/03/2009 4:20 pm

    Whoa! Hey! I’ve never seen this page before. Could I steal the one picture with the candy company and post office to post on my downtownwarren picture site? I will, of course, put a thank you and a link to dar2dream on there, if you so allow.

  4. 06/04/2009 7:28 am

    Please feel free to do so.

Leave a Reply

