Skip to content

Another Blackeye

06/29/2007
by

When recently surfing the web I came across a blog of someone, from California, who had been in Warren around early Spring and his comments and observations about the area, plus us in general, are not flattering.

“Why is Ohio so (bleep)” is the header on his post. Please beware that this post does contain obscenities.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/03/2007 2:10 am

    Just wanted to say that although my post is rather harsh, the people I met in Warren were very kind and good people. I just wish that the town and people had not been abused by corporations. It was very sad for me to see the people of Warren being abused from all directions. At least that is my opinion. It seems that corporations, the church, and the government all have the wrong approach. The church needs to be there to help build community not reprimand it. Corporations should be there providing real jobs for the middle class, not squeezing out mom and pop shops with the likes of Starbucks and Target. And our government should be helping to promote industry growth in the area rather than enabling the town’s entire economy to be outsourced. That is just my 2 cents. The people of Warren deserve much more.

  2. 08/22/2007 12:34 am

    Hey there. I’m back visiting Ohio and it seems the situation has gotten worse out here in Warren with this last round of layoffs. Recent stats say that foreclosures are at their highest level since the great depression in Ohio. I have several friends in real estate out here and talked to them at length about what is going on. Then listened to Rush on the talk radio (no I’m not a fan, but I can’t even get NPR out here). After listening to the rant I felt compelled to write another blog post about the situation out here. The headline is harsh, but I think it is appropriate for the conversation about the economics of Ohio. I asked more questions of people this time. One in particular was why don’t you move? I didn’t expect the response I got. Moving is not an option. Anyway, here is the post: Note to Congress: What do you mean third world? This is Ohio!

Leave a Reply

